Nypan is a guitar player born in Trondheim, Norway. After playing rock as a teenager at the local music scene he turned to jazz. He took his music studies at the University of Agder in Kristiansand and the Rhythmic Music Conservatory in Copenhagen, playing in different groups and projects.

After moving to Paris he became a member of the Fredrika Stahl band, recording and touring around the world for a couple of years. This led to new musical relationships, new albums and new tours.

His first album as a leader ”Elements” was recorded in 2010 and features the french bass player Pierre Boussaguet as well as the eminent saxophone player Petter Wettre and Shining keyboard monster Bernt Moen. His second album ”Republique” was recorded in Paris with tenor player Rick Margitza, Leonardo Montana, Gael Petrina and Simone Prattico.

The Nypan Trio album ”Directions” was released in 2015 featuring Daniel Formo on Hammond organ and Truls Rønning on drums.

In the summer of 2016 Nypan recorded his fourth album as a leader. The album features Bernt Moen, Egil Kalman, Ole Mofjell and is called "Stereotomic" and will be released on Losen Records febuary 2017.

The band Sonotronic (Per Harald Ottesen - bass, Ivar Loe Bjørnstad - drums and Ole Jørgen Bardal - saxophone) recorded their debut album at Ocean Sound Recordings in December 2016 and the album will be out during the spring of 2017.

January 2017 Nypan went to New York and recorded with Ben Wendel, Taylor Eigsti, Joe Martin and Justin Faulkner. This album will be released later this year.



Copyright @ All Rights Reserved